This American Life

TAL

This American Life is a radio show and podcast hosted by Ira Glass. I thought of it, and him, today when I happened to see this quote on my Weebly “my sites” page.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 6.59.03 AM     Of course, I immediately thought about language learning. It’s an effort. It’s “gonna take awhile”.   I’m a little behind in my TALs — they have started to pile up in my podcast queue. But a few I’ve enjoyed listening to recently are the two shows about Harper High School, in inner-city school in Chicago plagued by gun violence, “Act V”, about a group of prison inmates who perform “Hamlet”,  and the prologue to “Self-Improvement Kick”, about a school in South Korea (which I wrote about in January). The shows are always focused on a particular theme and are rather long: usually about an hour. But they are almost always split into at least 2 or 3 sections or “acts” based on different aspects of the week’s theme. Transcripts are available for most of the shows.

Leave a Reply

