Storybird

I thought for sure I’d added this site to the list, but I guess I only dreamed it.  It’s Storybird, and it’s a site where you can create and share stories with interesting art on any device. Now that I think about it, I may have been thinking about Cowbird and thought I did both. They do sound alike, and they do both focus on stories.

Here’s an example of a Storybird:

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 10.18.56 AM

And you can browse more before you decide whether or not you want to sign up and create your own.

When you do decide to create your own, you first choose from a gallery of artwork, then click “use this art”. Add the art you want, and type to write your story. Add more pages to make a Storybird book.

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 10.34.21 AM

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 10.35.39 AM

For students, I suggest a “regular” free account.

If you’re a teacher, you can sign up with a free “educator” account and have your students create “student” accounts in your “private classroom” where you can give assignments and track students’ progress, but you will need to register your school (not hard to do) if it hasn’t already been registered. With a free educator account, you can only have up to 35 students, though. I say, just use the regular account and not try to control it: students can make their own regular accounts and post their Storybirds to their own blogs and portfolios.

